Create Your Own Positive Ripple

English: Think positive
English: Think positive (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the past month, I have had the pleasure of spending some time with Victor Sinclair. I have been learning about the tenants of the Positive Imperative. It has been wonderful food for thought and I encourage you to explore it. I wanted to share how you can start creating your own positive ripple in the world. Where to start?

Positivity begins with your words.

From my childhood, I remember hearing “what you say is what you get”.  Proverbs 18:21 says, “Death and life are in the power of the tongue.” I have seen countless examples of victories because of a positive attitude, daily positive confessions and powerful words. The biggest example about the power of words came when a close family member was healed of terminal cancer. While the medical verdict was dire, we all focused on the belief in a positive outcome of healing and continuously spoke life into the situation. No one with negative words or beliefs could enter the hospital room. The outcome for our family member was complete remission, even though the journey was very difficult.

“Keep your thoughts positive because your thoughts become your words. Keep your words positive because your words become your behavior. Keep your behavior positive because your behavior becomes your habits. Keep your habits positive because your habits become your values. Keep your values positive because your values become your destiny.” Mahatmas Gandi

Positive thinking creates space for solutions

As I was climbing a snow-covered hill the other day in my hometown, I slipped with every step I took forward. It was really hard work to climb up and I was getting discouraged. I focused on the top of the hill, which opened my mind to possibilities, and my attitude changed. I suddenly remembered I had my yak traks in my pocket so I slipped these on my boots. The wires on my soles dug into the ice and snow and I was able to easily climb the hill. It made me realize that it takes hard work, a good attitude and teeth/grit to climb the big hills in our life.

“Your attitude, not your aptitude, will determine your altitude.” Zig Ziglar

Positivity is hard work but good work.

I often think about the reality that creating positivity is much more difficult than negativity. In times where convenience is king, it is hard to sell a concept that involved hard work. Have you ever noticed that you can go through your day being a positive force – opening doors, smiling, offering kind words, volunteering your time and then you get into the car and someone cuts you off and you swear…that word then becomes your kids’ new favourite? One small negative ripple changes the positive that has gone on before it. While it is hard to be perpetually positive, than the effort is worth it! Think about those days when you woke up and determined that nothing was going to bring you down. You put on your amour, protected your thoughts and the day was great! 

Positive thinking will let you do everything better than negative thinking will. Zig Ziglar

Positivity can start young.

Having children has shown me that positivity is critical when raising great kids. Again like anything, it takes a great deal of time, love and effort to raise strong, healthy, balanced children. I was fortunate to be raised by wonderful parents who modelled Zig Ziglar’s ideas from his book “Raising Positive Kids in a Negative World”. I have recently looked at the book and so many of the suggestions are timeless. I love the communication suggestions, which emphasize the constant daily love, support, positivity and encouragement to do hard things. To raise great children you have to be a great parent. You have to model the behavior and thinking!

People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily. Zig Ziglar 

Positivity…can start now. It’s never too late to make your ripple.
No matter what age you are or situation, positivity is a concerted effort. There are so many great books out there that can give you some good ideas! If you are already on this road, congratulations you are creating positive ripples and making a huge difference in people’s lives.

I was at a youth rally on the weekend listening to teenagers tell their stories about their life journeys. I heard about kids wrongfully accused of harassment, suicide attempts, depression and more. In each of their stories they spoke of a person that entered their life at the right time (just in time) invested in their lives. These earth angels listened to where they were at and spoke encouragement and positivity into them. These young people had a new hope and they started to dream. Dreaming can take you out of your current trials and cause you to focus on possibility!

“If you can dream it, you can achieve it.” Zig Ziglar

Leave a Reply

